June is National DeafBlind Awareness Month

The Senate of Canada issued a proclamation in 2015 to recognize June as National Deafblind Awareness Month. This motion helps “to promote public awareness of deafblind issues and to recognize the contribution of Canadians who are deafblind.” It additionally “recognizes the strength, courage and dedication that deafblind people show every day in living their lives and facing their daily challenges.” June is also the birth month of Helen Keller, one of the most internationally recognized people who lived with deafblindness.

“For many Canadians, it is difficult to imagine what it must be like to live with a combined loss of both vision and hearing. Our national awareness initiative is extremely important because Canadians who are deafblind have tremendous potential in their daily lives, as participants in their communities and as employees,” said Jennifer Robbins, one of the co-Chairs of the national committee and Executive Director of Canadian Helen Keller Centre (CHKC), which helped found the national coalition. “We have made significant progress in educating the public. We hope that our continued efforts will help more Canadians learn that people who are deafblind can live full, active and meaningful lives if they have the right support systems in place.”

The National Deafblind Awareness Month initiative is made up of service providers and consumer groups working in partnership to publicize June as National Deafblind Awareness Month. Their goal is to share information about the unique disability of deafblindness and the supports available through Intervenor Services with members of the public through an annual deafblind awareness campaign each June that is celebrated from coast to coast.

Stay tuned for a calendar events to get involved in your community!

For more information, contact Jennifer Robbins, Chair of National Deafblind Awareness Month Committee at jrobbins@chkc.org or Karen Madho k.madho@deafblindontario.com, Co-Chairs of National Deafblind Awareness Month Committee.